What an alternative study spot can bring you

A few weeks ago I was trying to find a spot in the Main Library to work on my dissertation. Because it was in the middle of the exam period and I was not early enough (at 9am there are plenty of lonely desks desperately waiting for a student to occupy them), I could not find a spot in, my almost second home, the library at George Square. Luckily the Information Services displayed a ‘alternative study space’ map. Apparently they anticipated the post-midday rush hour.

Student looking at books

Image credits: University of Edinburgh (Paul Dodds)

As indicated on the map, I decided to try out the David Hume tower. My study space at the 11th floor provided a welcome alternative to the oh-so-familiar library surroundings. Apart from the view of Arthur’s Seat on the one side and the sight of the Pentlands on the other side, it was great to study between Italian encyclopaedias, Portuguese classics and the smell of old books.

Besides from the productive afternoon I had there, in David Hume’s staircase I bumped into a poster that advertised The Centre for Law & Society’s Annual Lecture by Thomas Pogge (Yale University), entitled ‘The Millennium Development Goals and their Successors’.

The lecture proved to be an interesting event combining philosophy, ethics, international relations, development studies and statistics, given by an engaging and wonderful public speaker.

Thus, by finding an alternative study spot, I killed two birds with one stone, or as I would say in Dutch: I hit two flies with one swat. I made progress on my dissertation thanks to the newly discovered, study friendly, environment AND I got to go to an inspiring lecture!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

