An introduction…

Hello! My name is Addie, and I’m from Austin, Texas! Quite far from home, I know. I actually moved to Edinburgh without ever visiting. It was certainly a gamble, but I’m really enjoying it so far. Edinburgh is absolutely beautiful, I love the combination of nature, history, and city life.

priif

I’m currently in my second year of the Geography MA programme, however this is actually my first year in Edinburgh, because I chose the direct entry option when I applied. I’ve always loved Geography, ever since I participated in a Geography Bee when I was fourteen years old. I am interested in both the human and physical sides of geography, however I am slightly more into the economic and political areas of geography.

In my free time I enjoy doing a lot of different sorts of activities, from travel to photography and drawing to visiting museums  to walking my dog to football (not the American kind) to archery. I also enjoy lots of different television shows… I swear I’ve watched half of Netflix’s inventory, however I’m cutting back on that because I don’t have nearly as much free time anymore! This year I am a part of the Geography society, German Society, Vegetarian society, and a couple different societies focused on international development and humanitarian aid.

12541112_10205315589720537_6794476774309929881_n.jpg

One thing I’m most excited for this year is an event I am participating in through Edinburgh RAG. Another Geography student and I will be one of 60 teams hitchhiking from Edinburgh to Paris for charity. We chose to support BEAT, a leading UK eating disorder charity. I’m quite thrilled to be participating, however I’ll admit I’m a bit nervous!

Anyway, I am looking forward to this year and can’t wait to share my experiences with you!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

