Exams will be over in ten days! Just the right time to look back on the semester

Before I came to Edinburgh to study, I had worked for a while. That meant that the exams last December were the first exams I had had in nearly three years and that, honestly, was quite scary! What if I had forgotten how to prepare for an exam? What if university was harder than I had thought? Luckily, my exams weren’t half as bad as I had expected and it was all over quite quickly.
If there is anybody here reading this who spent some time after high school doing something else and is having doubts about whether they can adapt to studying again, worry not! Things are going to be okay, and it is not that bad being a little bit older than most of the freshers 🙂

photo[2787]

Field trip to see the impacts of a beaver reintroduction

I really liked my courses this semester. My Spanish improved quite a bit, thanks to my classes and my tandem partner whom I’ve met this semester. This is a great system if you are learning a new language and want to get speaking, I can only recommend it! So I already survived the scariest thing this exam period which was my Spanish speaking exam (Although I used the words muy bien to describe literally everything). Hip hip hurray!!!

Biology, Ecology and Environment was the only compulsory course this semester (my degree is Ecological and Environmental Sciences). It was our first introduction to Ecology, and it has been a really interesting course and I am still very happy to be doing my degree. We also got the chance to go to an estate in Perthshire where beavers had been reintroduced and analyse the water quality around the dams.

As my third course, I took Oceanography, which definitely was not easy, but worth it! It was fascinating to see how physics, biology, chemistry and geology all connected and how it is important to understand a bit of all those sciences to get the whole picture.

Apart from that, I had some friends over, tried the sweetest cheesecake in all of Scotland (I swear!), visited St Andrews, went up the Salisbury Crags about 20 times, had a concert with my wonderful choir, learned how to make a perfect Cappuccino at work, and found a room for next year (YES it is possible). So quite a positive outcome, I’d say!


And I’ll go into my exams a lot more relaxed this time 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

