A Shift from Brains to Environment

When I first started my four year journey of undergrad, I thought about majoring in environmental studies since I was passionate about nature and wanted to help with issues such as climate change. Unfortunately for me, however, I was discouraged by a few bad grades and then deemed myself not suitable for environmental studies. I then took a course in psychology and eventually moved on to neuroscience, and thus received a bachelors degree in neuroscience from Bates College.

What I wish to convey in this post is that a few bad grades should not discourage someone from pursuing a dream, a passion, or an interest. Initially, I was worried when I was accepted into the carbon management program at the University of Edinburgh, for fear that I was going to suffer the same fate that I faced in undergrad. This was not the case, however, and I made friends, spoke to Professors, and found the support that I needed to succeed.

Don’t get me wrong, it was not a mistake to switch majors, for I learned some very cool facts about the brain and met some wonderful professors along the way, but I should not have tricked myself into thinking that I was no good at something. Never be afraid to try something new, and always know that a little support can go a long way 🙂

About christopherpelz

I am a neuroscientist and an environmentalist :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

